Google brings UCP direct checkout to AI Mode and Gemini in Canada
Google is rolling out UCP-powered direct checkout to Canadian shoppers in AI Mode and Gemini, and plans to broaden access through Merchant Center starting next year.

Direct checkout is rolling out to Canadian shoppers buying from eligible retailers on Google's AI surfaces. Canadian Merchant Center onboarding is planned for next year. On 4 November 2026, Google Canada announced that direct checkout, powered by the Universal Commerce Protocol (UCP), is expanding to Canadian shoppers in AI Mode in Google Search and the Gemini app. For anyone running Canadian retail accounts, the practical question is less about the feature and more about what happens to your data and your reporting when a purchase completes on Google.
What changed
Rolling out now (from 4 November 2026). Google's Canadian blog says: "Rolling out starting today, direct checkout, powered by UCP, is expanding to Canadian shoppers on AI Mode in Google Search and the Gemini app." Shoppers can purchase directly from eligible Canadian retailers while they research on Google. The named retailers are lululemon, select Shopify merchants, Shoppers Drug Mart and Simons. Google does not say how many Shopify merchants are included or how "eligible" is decided.
Payment runs through Google Pay, using payment methods and shipping information already saved in Google Wallet. Google says retailers remain the seller of record and can customise the integration to their specific needs.
Planned, starting next year. Google says it will begin broadening access by making simplified UCP integration available directly within Merchant Center. Retailers would then be able to enable direct checkout and other capabilities for their product listings across the Gemini app and AI Mode in Google Search from their accounts.
The Merchant Center Help page on the UCP integration hub is consistent with that. It says the integration is gradually rolling out in the U.S., with Australia and Canada to follow next year. It lists three capabilities merchants can select: cart transfer to merchant site, native checkout on Google, and identity linking.
Planned, "in the coming months". Google says it will work with retailers to add more capabilities, such as applying loyalty rewards. No dates are given.
How onboarding works (per the Help page, currently for the U.S.). A merchant must first complete the technical implementation in the UCP developer guide, then fill out an interest form. Google notifies merchants it selects, who then get the onboarding experience in Merchant Center. That includes a sandbox environment to validate the UCP profile, cart transfer to a merchant site, and native checkout APIs. Merchant Center will also alert merchants if they need to update feed attributes, returns or account configuration.
Google also cites its own research that 59% of holiday shoppers in Canada plan to use an AI tool to help them shop this season. That is Google's figure and the blog gives no sample or method.
What this means for specialists
Google names participating retailers as examples, using the word "including", and does not specify the full group or its size. The Merchant Center route for Canada is planned for next year.
The larger implication is for measurement. Google describes shoppers buying "as they’re researching on Google". Neither source says what a UCP purchase looks like in your reporting, whether it is tied to a site visit, or how it is attributed. Until that is answered, treat any gap between Canadian orders and the sessions or conversions you can see as a possible cause to investigate, not a conclusion.
The Help page also shows where the work sits. Technical implementation comes before onboarding, so developer work comes first. Merchants on a third-party platform are told to speak to that provider about its UCP plans. And Google's own advice on preparation is that data in Merchant Center, from product feeds to brand assets, should be up to date. The onboarding checks on feed attributes, returns and account configuration suggest those areas will be examined.
Google says retailers remain the seller of record and can customise the integration to their specific needs. The sources do not spell out what that means for order handling or returns, but returns are one of the areas Merchant Center will alert on during onboarding.
What to do this week
- Open Merchant Center for each Canadian retail account and check whether a UCP integration hub appears. Google says it may show up as onboarding rolls out, and the Help page puts Canada next year.
- Review product feeds and brand assets in Merchant Center and fix anything out of date. This is Google's stated preparation.
- Check the returns information and account configuration against what the retailer actually offers, since Merchant Center will alert on both during onboarding.
- Ask the client's developers to read the UCP developer guide and estimate the technical implementation, which is required before onboarding. Note the interest form is a separate step.
- If the store runs on Shopify or another third-party platform, ask the provider what its UCP integration plans are, as the Help page directs.
- Write down one question for your analytics owner: how should a purchase completed through direct checkout in AI Mode or the Gemini app be recorded and attributed? Put it to your Google contact too.
- Confirm with each client whether they are one of the named retailers or have been told they are a selected Shopify merchant.
What we do not know yet
- Reporting. Neither source says how UCP purchases are reported or attributed, or whether they appear alongside existing conversion data.
- Eligibility. Google says "eligible Canadian retailers" and "select Shopify merchants" without criteria or numbers.
- Timing. Merchant Center access for Canada is "next year" and loyalty rewards are "in the coming months". No dates are given for either.
- Canadian onboarding terms. The Help page process (developer guide, interest form, selection) is described for the U.S. rollout. Whether Canada follows it identically is not stated.
- Cost and ads. The sources do not mention fees, or how direct checkout interacts with ads or product listings beyond enabling it for listings in AI Mode and Gemini.
- Product categories and fulfilment. Neither source covers shipping options, order management or restrictions.
Sources & Further Reading
- blog.google: A new way to shop: Introducing a more intuitive, agentic shopping experience for consumers and retailers in Canadahttps://blog.google/intl/en-ca/products/explore-get-answers/a-new-way-to-shop-introducing-a-more-intuitive-agentic-shopping-experience-for-consumers-and-retailers-in-canada/
- support.google.com: How to onboard to the UCP integration hub in Merchant Center - Google Merchant Center Helphttps://support.google.com/merchants/answer/16992327

